Indian PIN Code System

Let’s explore how India’s PIN Code works. A Postal Index Number, also known as a PIN or PIN code, is a specific code used in India’s postal code systems to identify geographic areas. This helps in the efficient sorting and delivery of mail. PIN codes typically consist of six digits and are assigned to different states, districts, and specific post offices. Each digit in the code corresponds to a different geographic level, simplifying the sorting process. Playing a crucial role in making mail delivery faster and more accurate, particularly in regions with numerous towns and villages that may share similar names.

Indian PIN Code Structure

Taking Pin Code: 400 005 as an example

Digit Description Example (400005)
First Digit Region 4 - Represents the North-West region of India
Second Digit Sub-Region 0 - Further subdivides the North-West region
Third Digit Sorting District 0 - Identifies a specific sorting district within the sub-region
Last Three Digits Specific Post Office 005 - Represents a particular post office within the sorting district

History of Pin Code

The Indian Postal Service, the Postal Index Number (PIN) code system was Introduced on August 15, 1972, with the aim to modernise and simplify the mail delivery across the country. Initially it comprised six digits, with each digit representing different geographic levels, including regions, sub-regions, and specific delivery areas. Today, the system has since expanded to over 150,000 PIN codes nationwide.

Are you looking for an Instant loan?

How Does India’s Pin Code Work

India's Postal Index Number (PIN) code system functions on a hierarchical structure based on numerical codes. The system aids in sorting and directing mail to the correct destination efficiently. Here’s how India’s Pin code works:

The first digit of the Pin code structure in India, ranges from 1 to 9, signifies a postal zone, while the second digit represents sub-regions such as union territories and states. The third digit, combined with the first two, identifies sorting districts, each centred at a main post office in a major city. The route of a delivery post office within a sorting district is indicated by the third digit, with 0 typically assigned to offices in the core area. The fourth digit further refines mail sorting within each state.

Lastly, the fifth and sixth digits specify the post office responsible for the address, starting with 01 for the General Post Office (GPO) or head office, with subsequent numbers for new delivery offices. When mail volume exceeds capacity, new delivery offices receive sequential PINs, ensuring neighbouring offices in the same area share the first four digits.

Dakshin Gangotri Pin code

Dakshin Gangotri is India’s first scientific research base station in Antarctica. It has the Pin Code 403001, which is the same as Vasco da Gama Post Office situated in Panaji Goa.

Indian Postal Zones

India, having the most widely distributed postal network in the world,has 9 postal zones with 8 zones representing the geographical regions and the 9th zone represents the Indian Army.

These postal zones are distributed as follows:

PIN Code Zones State and Union Territories
1 North Delhi, Chandigarh, Himachal Pradesh,Haryana, Punjab, Jammu & Kashmir, Ladakh,
2 North Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh
3 West Rajasthan, Gujarat, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu.
4 West Chhattisgarh,Goa, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh
5 South Karnataka,Telangana, Andhra Pradesh

Read More

Read Less

Indian Postal Regions

The PIN code for Sorting Districts are distributed as follows:

The third digit of a PIN, including the first two digits, designates a particular geographical area with the functional zone for the Army being an exception. This district, headquartered at the main post office of the largest city in the region, is known as the sorting office. Depending on the volume of mail processed, a state may have one or more sorting districts.

PIN prefix Region
11 Delhi
12–13 Haryana
14–15 Punjab
16 Chandigarh
17 Himachal Pradesh

Read More

Read Less

Not sure of your credit score? Check it out for free now!

Check Your Credit Score for Free

Also get a Free Credit Report

State-Wise PIN Codes

Looking for specific pin codes across different cities? Explore the comprehensive list of city-wise pin codes below for accurate postal information:

Andaman & Nicobar Islands Andhra Pradesh Arunachal Pradesh
Assam Bihar Chandigarh
Chhattisgarh Dadra & Nagar Haveli Daman & Diu
Delhi Goa Gujarat
Haryana Himachal Pradesh Jammu & Kashmir
Jharkhand Karnataka Kerala

Read More

Read Less

Benefits of Pin Codes

Pin codes, or Postal Index Numbers, contribute significantly to the efficient functioning of the postal system, government services, businesses, and e-commerce operations. The benefits that Pin Codes provide are:

  1. Efficient Mail Delivery: Pin codes help simplify the process of sorting and delivering mail by providing a unique identification number to each locality. This ensures that mail reaches its intended destination promptly and accurately.
  2. Location Identification: Pin codes help identify the precise location of an address, including the region, district, and locality. This is especially useful in areas with complex addressing systems or in rural areas where specific landmarks may be scarce.
  3. Government Services: Pin codes are essential for various government services, including voter registration, census enumeration, and distribution of welfare benefits. Accurate pin code data ensures that government resources are allocated efficiently and reach the intended recipients.
  4. E-commerce and Logistics: In the era of e-commerce, pin codes play a vital role in carrying out online transactions and logistics. They enable accurate address verification, order processing, and timely delivery of goods purchased online.
  5. Business Operations: Pin codes are also crucial for businesses, especially those involved in sales, distribution, and customer service. They help businesses organise their operations, manage inventories, and ensure seamless communication with customers.

Are you looking for a loan?

Frequently Asked Questions

The PIN code zones in India is divided into 9 zones, with 8 zones representing the regions and the 9th functional zone is for the army.

India's 6-digit PIN code allows for precise addressing: first digit for region, others for sub-region, district & post office.

Yes, each pin code in India is unique.

Specific post offices or districts will have their own pin codes.

No, it is highly unlikely for two countries to have the same pin code.

Decoding a pin code is easy, the first digit represents the postal zones, the second digit represents sub-regions, the third digit when combined with the first two digits represents the sorting districts, the fourth digit refines mail sorting and the fifth and sixth digit represents the post office.

The first digit of India’s Pin code indicates the Postal zones.

In India, Pin codes were introduced on August 15th, 1972.

The ‘P’ in Pin code stands for ‘Postal’.

Display of trademarks, trade names, logos, and other subject matters of Intellectual Property displayed on this website belongs to their respective intellectual property owners & is not owned by Bvalue Services Pvt. Ltd. Display of such Intellectual Property and related product information does not imply Bvalue Services Pvt. Ltd company’s partnership with the owner of the Intellectual Property or proprietor of such products.

Please read the Terms & Conditions carefully as deemed & proceed at your own discretion.