Indian Holiday Calendar

The Indian Holiday Calendar is an important guide for people, companies, and organizations working in or with India. It lists all the national, regional, and religious holidays celebrated across India's diverse cultures. Knowing these holidays is essential for proper planning and smooth operations.

Banks, financial firms, and businesses heavily depend on the Indian Holiday Calendar to schedule their work while respecting cultural traditions. Additionally, it helps foreigners, tourists, and global companies understand India's many festive occasions, promoting cultural awareness and respectful interactions. Let's look at the different aspects of the impact of the Indian Holiday Calendar on several businesses.

The Indian Holiday Calendar significantly impacts businesses as many establishments close or operate within limited feasible hours on public holidays.

Also, only three days are designated as official national holidays by the Indian government: Republic Day (January 26th), Independence Day (August 15th), and Gandhi Jayanti (October 2nd).

Ready to take the next step? Apply for a Personal loan now!

Public Holiday

Public holidays, also known as government holidays in India, are days designated for rest and celebration across the country. There are two main categories:

National Holidays

These are holidays that are celebrated throughout India and are mandatory for all government offices, banks, and educational institutions to observe. There are only three national holidays:

  • Republic Day: January 26th
  • Independence Day: August 15th
  • Gandhi Jayanti: October 2nd

Other Public Holidays

Apart from the three national holidays, there are numerous other public holidays throughout the year. These can be:

  • Restricted Holidays: These are holidays declared by the Central Government, but individual states have the discretion to observe them.
  • Regional Holidays: Festivals specific to certain regions or states are also considered public holidays within those areas.
  • Religious Holidays: India is a diverse country with many religions, so religious festivals like Holi, Diwali, Dussehra, Eid al-Fitr, and Christmas are public holidays in specific regions.
  • Bank Holidays: Bank holidays are official days off when banks and most businesses close. They often celebrate national events or religious holidays. While named after banks, they provide a public day of rest and celebration.

India has a relatively high number of holidays throughout the year due to its diverse culture and religious landscape. The exact number can vary slightly depending on the state or region.

Also, public offices, banks, and businesses may be closed during national and major regional holidays. Public transportation may also be affected during major festivals.

Not sure of your credit score? Check it out for free now!

Check Your Credit Score for Free

Also get a Free Credit Report

National Holiday List

National holidays are deeply rooted in our country's ancient traditions and historical milestones that hold significance for Indian society.

The following table presents a comprehensive Indian National Holiday List.

Holiday Name Date Significance
Republic Day January 26th Marks the adoption of the Constitution of India
Independence Day August 15th Celebrates India's independence from British rule
Gandhi Jayanti October 2nd Birthday of Mahatma Gandhi, the "Father of the Nation"

Religious Holiday List

India is a land of spiritual diversity. Here, many religions have thrived for centuries. Religious observances and their associated holidays are deeply ingrained in the cultural heritage of India.

The table presented below showcases a list of religious holidays (2024) celebrated in India.

Holiday Name Date Religion
Makar Sankranti January 15th Hinduism
Lohri January 14th Sikhism
Maha Shivaratri March 8th Hinduism
Holi March 25th Hinduism
Gudi Padwa March 28th Hinduism

Read More

Read Less

Bank Holiday List

Banking operations play a crucial role in facilitating financial transactions and ensuring the smooth functioning of economic activities. In India, banks observe a set of designated holidays throughout the year, during which they remain closed for public operations. interaction/operations. However, the extensive services such atm ATM machine & deposit machines may remain active for services.

The following table presents a list of Indian Bank Holidays of 2024.

Holiday Description Date Day
New Year's Day January 1st Wednesday
Republic Day January 26th Friday
Maha Shivratri February 19th Monday
Holi March 7th Thursday
Good Friday March 29th Friday

Read More

Read Less

Note- For the complete list of holidays, including additional state-specific holidays, please visit the RBI website or your bank's website.

Regional Holidays List

India is a diverse country, with each region having its own unique cultural traditions and festivals. While several national holidays are celebrated across the country, many regions observe their own regional holidays that hold immense significance for the local communities. These regional holidays are deeply rooted in the rich heritage, customs, and beliefs of the respective states or regions.

The table below presents a list of regional holidays observed in various parts of India.

State Holiday Significance
Andhra Pradesh Ugadi (Telugu New Year) Celebrates the beginning of the new year.
Ugadi (Telugu New Year) Celebrates the beginning of the new year.
Assam Bihu (Assamese New Year) Celebrates the beginning of the new year and marks the arrival of spring.
Goa Goa Carnival Celebrated before Lent with parades, music, and festivities.
Gujarat Navratri (Nine Nights) Celebrates the victory of good over evil.
Makar Sankranti (Harvest Festival) Marks the harvest season.

Read More

Read Less

Are you looking for a personal loan?

Frequently Asked Questions

There are 3 national holidays in India: Republic Day, Independence Day, and Gandhi Jayanti. The number of total holidays can vary by state and organization, but there are typically around 17 public holidays.

On your computer, go to Google Calendar settings and under "Add calendar", choose "Regional holidays" and select "Public holidays only" for India. On your phone, open Google Calendar app, tap Menu > Settings > Holidays > tap the Indian region and choose "Public holidays only".

India doesn't have a single holiday season but celebrates numerous festivals throughout the year. Diwali, the "Festival of Lights", is a major holiday period that falls between October and November.

On Android, the holiday calendar is set within the Google Calendar app. You can access and adjust settings like national, regional, and religious holidays there.

Yes, Google Calendar can show holidays. You can choose to see all holidays or just public holidays for your region.

Go to File > Options > Calendar > Add Holidays. Check the box for "India" and click OK to add Indian national holidays.

Display of trademarks, trade names, logos, and other subject matters of Intellectual Property displayed on this website belongs to their respective intellectual property owners & is not owned by Bvalue Services Pvt. Ltd. Display of such Intellectual Property and related product information does not imply Bvalue Services Pvt. Ltd company’s partnership with the owner of the Intellectual Property or proprietor of such products.

Please read the Terms & Conditions carefully as deemed & proceed at your own discretion.